Gluten free braised beef with beer and leeks

Author: Les Cultures de chez nous
Braisé de boeuf à la bière et poireaux, version sans gluten
Preparation 20
Baking 150
Portions 6
Freezing No


  • 1 kg (2 pounds) aproximatively of roast beef palette
  • Ground salt and pepper or ground pepper gluten free certified, up to taste
  • 15 ml (1 tablespoon) of olive oil
  • 30 ml (2 tablespoons) of butter
  • 1 package of 250 g (3 cups) of Les Cultures de chez nous sliced leeks
  • 150 g (6 slices) of gluten free bacon
  • 2 chopped garlic cloves
  • 1 small crate of white mushrooms, sliced in four
  • 2 bottles of gluten free blond beer, La Méssagère, Brasseries de la Nouvelle France (rice and buckwheat)
  • 2 Bay leaf
  • 125 ml (1/2 cup) of finely chopped fresh parsley
Side dish:
  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 125 ml (1/2 cup) of finely chopped fresh parsley
  • Lemon zest
  • Ground salt and pepper or ground pepper gluten free certified, up to taste
LeeksFind our bag in yourlocal grocery store

This week's specials


  • Preheat oven at 350 °F (180 °C).
  • Seasons roast and set aside.
  • Preheat an oven safe cooking pot at high heat, add oil and butter. Roast meat on both side.
  • Remove meat from the cooking pot, add Les Cultures de chez nous sliced leeks, bacon, mushrooms and garlic. Roast at medium-high heat till bacon is cooked.
  • Pour 1 bottle of gluten free beer over vegetables mixture. Deglaze and carefullly scrape the bottom of the cooking pot to remove cooking sugar. Add parsley. Set meat over vegetables then pour a second gluten free beer.
  • Cover and oven bake. Set the whole squash over the oven grill.
  • Cook the braise for 2h 30 m. After 45 minutes, remove seeds and liquids from the center of the squash. With a forks undo squash flesh to form spaghetti's like pasta. In a bowl mix squash flesh, parlsey, zest and butter. Salt and pepper up to taste. Mix well.
  • Serves with the braise side with spaghetti squash.

Chef's notes

Usually, for delicatessen and bacons, there's risk of contamination with rye, oats, wheat, barley, triticale or with one of these derivatives that contains gluten. Since bacon can contains aroma, it's possible to find traces of gluten in these substances. Then, we should verify with the retailers. Research a products which the package says gluten free.

Beer, made with fermentation of barley, contains gluten. To make gluten free beer, we have to change the cereal use in the preparation. This is why rice and buckwheat beer  does not contain gluten. On the market, there are some gluten free beer, blond's are particularly indicated in culinary preparations.