Ingredients

  • 1 kg (2 pounds) aproximatively of roast beef palette
  • Ground salt and pepper or ground pepper gluten free certified, up to taste
  • 15 ml (1 tablespoon) of olive oil
  • 30 ml (2 tablespoon) of butter
  • 1 package of 250 gr (3 cups) of Les Cultures de chez nous sliced leeks
  • 150 gr (6 slices) of gluten free bacon
  • 2 chopped garlic cloves
  • 1 small crate of white mushrooms, slice in four
  • 2 bottles of gluten free blond beer, La Méssagère, Brasseries de la Nouvelle France (rice and buckwheat)
  • 2 Bay leaf
  • 125 ml (1/2 cup) of finely chopped fresh parsley
  • Accompaniment :
  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 125 ml (1/2 cup) of finely chopped fresh parsley
  • Lemon zest
  • Ground salt and pepper or ground pepper gluten free certified, up to taste
LeeksFind our bag in yourlocal grocery store

Preparation

  • Preheat oven at 350°F (180°C).
  • Seasons roast and set aside.
  • Preheat an oven safe cooking pot at high heat, add oil and butter. Brown meat on both side.
  • Remove meat from the cooking pot, add Les Cultures de chez nous sliced leeks, bacon, mushrooms and garlic. Brown at medium-high heat till bacon is cooked.
  • Pour 1 bottle of gluten free beer over vegetables mixture. Degalze and carefullly scrape the bottom of the cooking pot to remove cooking sugar. Add parsley. Lay the meat over vegetables then pour the second gluten free beer.
  • Cover and bake. Set the whole squash over the oven grill.
  • Cook the braised for 2h30. after 45 minutes, remove seeds and liquids from the center of the squash. With a forks undo squash flesh to form spaghetti's like pasta. In a bowl mix squash flesh, parlsey, zest and butter. Salt and pepper up to taste. Mix well.
  • Serves with the braised, accompanied with spaghetti squash.

Chef's notes

Usually, for delicatessen and bacons, there is risk of contamination with rye, oats, wheat, barley, triticale or with one of these derivatives that contains gluten. Since bacon can contains aroma, it is possible to find hint of gluten in these substances. Then, we should verify with the retailers. research a products which the package says gluten free.

Beer, made with fermentation of barley, contains gluten. To make gluten free beer, we have to change the cereal use in the preparation. This is why rice and buckwheat beer  does not contain gluten. On the market, there are some gluten free beer, blond's are particularly indicated in culinary preparations.

 

Advertisement